ACR announces 2018 gold medalists, honorary fellows, distinguished achievement recipients

The American College of Radiology (ACR) Board of Chancellors announced Tuesday, Dec. 5, it had selected three innovators as 2018 Gold Medalists. Each recipient was recognized for their service to the ACR or the practice of radiology.

The individuals receiving the honor are Marilyn J. Goske, MD, chair emeritus of the Image Gently Alliance and professor of the department of radiology at the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine; Barry D. Pressman, MD, former ACR president and chair of the department of radiology at Cedars Sinai Medical Center in Los Angeles; and Donald L. Resnick MD, former president of the International Skeletal Society, professor emeritus in department of radiology at University of California, San Diego.

In addition, two candidates were approved to receive honorary fellowships for their contributions to “the science or practice of radiology.” Corrado Bibbolino, MD, former chief of the department of radiology and department of clinical services and clinical research at the National Institute for Infectious Diseases in Italy, and Yasushi Nagata, MD, professor and chair of radiation oncology at Hiroshima University Graduate School of Medical Sciences in Japan.

Lastly, James L. Morrison, who previously served as ACR assistant executive director of members and executive vice president, will receive the Distinguished Achievement Award for “notable service” to the ACR and the profession of radiology as a whole.

The selected awardees will receive their honors at the ACR 2018 Annual Meeting in May 2018.