2 radiologists elected to National Academy of Medicine

Two experienced radiologists—Richard L. Wahl, MD, and Vivian S. Lee, MD, PhD—have been elected to the National Academy of Medicine, previously known as the Institute of Medicine.

On Monday during its annual meeting, the academy announced the elections of a total of 80 new members, including Wahl and Lee. Being elected to the academy is viewed as one of the most prestigious honors an individual in the fields of health and medicine can receive. It is based on both professional achievements and a commitment to service.

Wahl is a Elizabeth E. Mallinckrodt professor of radiology and head of radiology at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis. He is also the director of the school’s Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology and credited as one the first to practice radioimmunotherapy.

In addition, Wahl holds 18 radiology patents and is the primary author of several textbooks. Over the years, he was won the U.S. Department of Energy Achievement Award, two Alavi-Mandell awards from the Society for Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging, the Academy of Radiology Research’s Distinguished Investigator Award, and the Academy of Molecular Imaging’s Distinguished Scientist Award.

Lee is the University of Utah’s senior vice president for health services, dean of the university’s school of medicine, and CEO of the University of Utah Health Care system. She was previously part of the radiology faculty at the NYU Langone Medical Center.

Lee has also served as president of the International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine and authored a well-known cardiovascular MRI textbook.

“The National Academy of Medicine has provided critical thought leadership in health policy and academic medicine that has impacted the health of this nation and of the world,” Lee said in a University of Utah statement. “I am honored to join this august body and look forward to the opportunity to contribute.”

Victor J. Dzau, National Academy of Medicine president, praised the organization’s newest members.  

“Our newly elected members represent the brightest, most influential, and passionate people in health, science, and medicine in our nation and internationally,” Dzau said in a statement. “They are at the top of their fields and are committed to service. The expertise they bring to the organization will help us respond to today’s most pressing health-related challenges and inform the future of health, science, and medicine. It is my privilege to welcome these distinguished individuals to the National Academy of Medicine.”