ACR announces new president, vice president at annual meeting

The American College of Radiology (ACR) Council has elected a new president and vice president, announcing the news at the ACR 2019 Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C.  

Debra L. Monticciolo, MD, was elected ACR president. She currently serves as the vice chair of the department of radiology (for research) and section chief of breast imaging at Baylor Scott & White Medical Center-Temple in Temple, Texas. She is also a professor of radiology at Texas A&M University in College Station.

In addition, Monticciolo is a past president of the Society of Breast Imaging and has served two terms on the FDA National Mammography Quality Assurance Advisory Committee.

“Dr. Monticciolo is an internationally recognized expert in breast imaging and a longtime advocate for increased access to high-quality care for women and their families,” said Geraldine B. McGinty, MD, MBA, chair of the ACR Board of Chancellors, in a prepared statement. “She has shown outstanding leadership in every role in which she has served within the ACR and elsewhere in medicine. The ACR will be well-represented by Dr. Monticciolo and the entire group of dedicated physician volunteers elected ACR officers this week. I look forward to working with them all to advance the ACR in the service of our patients.”

Katarzyna J. Macura, MD, PhD, was elected ACR vice president. Macura is as a professor of radiology at Johns Hopkins Medicine in Baltimore, Maryland, and a professor of oncology and urology at Johns Hopkins Medical School. She has held many positions within the ACR, including serving as a co-chair of the ACR Commission on Women and Diversity.

Richard Duszak, Jr., MD, was also elected speaker of the ACR Council. Amy Kotsenas, MD, was elected vice speaker.

The newest recipient of a prestigious award

The ACR made another big announcement during its annual meeting: Daniel Picus, MD, is the 2019 recipient of the William T. Thorwarth, MD, Award. Picus is a professor of radiology and senior vice chair in the department of radiology at Washington University School of Medicie in St. Louis. He is also a member of the American Medical Association CPT Editorial Panel and the Clinical Examples in Radiology Editorial Board.

The Thorwarth Award was first established in 2004 to recognize ACR members or staff who “show excellence in the field of economics and health policy by way of leadership, diplomacy and integrity,” according to a prepared statement. It is not an annual award, only given to certain individuals when it is believed that the time is right and they have proven that they “deserve recognition for their efforts.”

“Dan ably chaired the ACR Coding & Nomenclature Committee during the expansive CMS revision and revaluation of the DR, IR and RO code sets,” Ezequiel Silva III, MD, chair of the ACR Commission on Economics, said in the same statement. “Our entire membership owes him thanks for ensuring that our ability to report and perform our services was well maintained during those years. He is a fantastic choice for this prestigious award.”