ASRT announces 2 winners of annual advocacy awards

The American Society of Radiologic Technologists (ASRT) announced that the Nevada Society of Radiologic Technologists and Diane Hutton, BA, RT(R), have been awarded the 2019 ASRT Award for Advocacy. The news came just one day after the ASRT named this year’s Distinguished Author award winners.

The Nevada Society of Radiologic Technologists earned the award by pushing for the state to pass a radiologic technologist licensure bill. The legislation is currently being considered and could be passed by the end of 2019. The group worked for the bill by holding “awareness days” and public meetings focused on how it would benefit healthcare in Nevada.

Hutton, on the other hand, is an active member of the Missouri Society of Radiologic Technologists and has rallied the group’s members to gather in Jefferson City, the state’s capital, to push for a licensure bill.

The ASRT Award for Advocacy was established in 2003 and goes to one society and one individual every year. This year’s awards will be handed out at the 2019 ASRT Annual Governance and House of Delegates Meeting in Orlando, Florida, in June 2019.

More information on the awards, and the recipients, is available here.