ASRT announces International Speakers Exchange Award winners

The American Society of Radiologic Technologists (ASRT) announced Monday that Erin J. Wittland and Melanie C. Dempsey, PhD, have been selected to receive ASRT Foundation 2018 International Speakers Exchange Awards.

Recipients are given the opportunity to travel internationally and share their research with colleagues. The ASRT has been handing out these awards for more than ten years now.

Wittland, a senior radiation therapist working in Missouri, will travel to the 2018 United Kingdom Radiological Congress in Liverpool, England, to share his presentation, “On-Table Treatment Adaptation and Motion Management Using MR-guided Radiotherapy: 4 Years of Clinical Implementation.”

“It is such an honor to be selected for this award,” Wittland said in a prepared statement. “I feel very proud to work with such an amazing team in the advancement of the promising new treatment modality of MR-IGRT.”

Dempsey, a radiation therapy program director working in Virginia, will travel to the 2018 Canadian Association of Medical Radiation Technologists Annual General Conference in Montreal, Canada, to deliver her presentation, “Evaluating Secondary Thyroid Dose in Total Breast Irradiation.”

“Any time radiologic science professionals gather, there is both a formal and informal exchange of information that creates a greater sense of global community,” Dempsey said in the same statement. “I look forward to this opportunity.”