ASRT announces several award winners, honorees

The American Society of Radiologic Technologists (ASRT) has announced three recipients of the 2019 Siemens Education Journey Award, designed to support industry development by covering conference registration fees, travel and lodging for selected ASRT members.

Rebecca Troyer, PhD, RT(T); Janice Naeger, RT(R)(M); and Julie Gill, PhD, RT(R)(QM) are this year’s award winners. Each recipient will be sent to an industry conference in the next 12 months.

“Siemens Healthineers is proud to align with the ASRT Foundation to demonstrate our commitment to fostering continuing education opportunities for radiologic technologists,” Nanci Wozniak, vice president of education & workforce solutions for Siemens Healthineers, said in a prepared statement. “It is our hope that receiving this grant will facilitate the development of new professional skills and improve workplace efficiency for recipients, which will translate into higher quality patient outcomes in the future.”

In related news

The society also announced that three members are being awarded Life Member status while three others will be assigned “fellow” status moving forward.

Michael DelVecchio, BS., RT(R); Rebecca “Becky” Kruse, RT(R); and Donna L. Long, MSM., RT(R)(M)(QM) are now ASRT Life Members. The ASRT first established this position in 1938 to honor members who have maintained at least 30 years of continuous membership.

The newest ASRT Fellows are Julie Gill, PhD, RT(R)(QM); Jonathan Mazal, MS, RRA, RT(R)(MR)(CI); and Joseph Whitton, MS, RT(R)(CT)(MR).

“The ASRT established the honorary fellow category in 1956 to recognize members who have made outstanding contributions to the profession and ASRT,” according to a statement. “Fellows have volunteered in leadership positions at the national and local levels, written articles for publication, presented at professional meetings and helped advance the radiologic technology profession.”