ASRT elects 4 officers to its board of directors

The American Society of Radiologic Technologists (ASRT) announced Friday, March 9, the election of four officers who will serve on its 2019-2019 ASRT Board of Directors. One-year terms officially begin at the end of the 2018 ASRT Annual Governance and House of Delegates Meeting in Las Vegas on June 24.

Stephanie Johnston, MSRS, from Holliday, Texas, is the society’s new president-elect. Johnston is the director of the Breast Center of Texoma in Wichita Falls, Texas, and presently serves the ASRT Board of Directors as vice president.

Three other officers were also elected:

  • Mike Odgren, who currently works as an advanced practice radiographer at Diversified Radiology of Colorado in Lakewood, was elected vice president for 2018-2019.
  • Daniel Gonzales, MSRS, who currently works as the radiology manager of the department of radiology at the Lincoln County Medical Center in Ruidoso, New Mexico, was elected treasurer for 2018-2019.
  • Kristi Moore, PhD, who currently works as the radiologic sciences chair and an associate professor at the University of Mississippi Medical Center in Jackson, was elected secretary for 2018-2019.

Melissa B. Jackowski, EdD, the group’s current president-elect, will become ASRT president following the June 24 meeting in Las Vegas.

“ASRT members participate in an annual election process to choose the radiologic technologists who make decisions that affect the ASRT and the profession,” Sal Martino, EdD, ASRT CEO and executive director, said in a prepared statement. “This open election process has resulted in a history of a strong Board of Directors and House of Delegates featuring RTs who dedicate a tremendous amount of time and effort to making sure decisions are made in the best interest of the Society, its members and the profession.”