ASRT Names Winners of 2017 Award for Advocacy
ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. – The American Society of Radiologic Technologists has awarded the 2017 ASRT Award for Advocacy to The Kentucky Society of Radiologic Technologists Inc. and The New Hampshire Society of Radiologic Technologists, along with Patricia Willett, B.S., R.T.(R)(CT), and Brandy Cusson, R.T.(R).Established in 2003, the program recognizes two affiliate societies and two individuals for outstanding legislative advocacy efforts performed on behalf of the radiologic science community. The winners are selected from nominations submitted by ASRT members.The Kentucky Society of Radiologic Technologists Inc. successfully defeated a bill that would have allowed nurse practitioners to perform medical imaging and radiation therapy procedures and supervise radiologic technologists. The KSRT used its website, social media and emails to mobilize stakeholders. In addition, the KSRT promoted advocacy by encouraging R.T.s to contact federal lawmakers and asking them to support the Medicare Access to Radiology Care Act (MARCA). The KSRT and its members also voiced strong opposition to the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs’ proposal to allow nurse practitioners to order, perform and interpret medical imaging procedures.The New Hampshire Society of Radiologic Technologists worked to engage advocates by creating open lines of communication with the state’s R.T. community. The NHSRT worked with its members and legislators to introduce a legislative bill to license radiographers, radiation therapists, nuclear medicine technologists, magnetic resonance technologists, radiologist assistants, limited x-ray machine operators and sonographers. The NHSRT held stakeholder meetings, sent email blasts, signed petitions, and met with state representatives and senators to gain support for licensure. The work put forth by the NHSRT board of directors, members and students resulted in a licensure law enacted in 2016.Patricia Willett, B.S., R.T.(R)(CT), an integral part of the Massachusetts Society of Radiologic Technologists’ legislative committee, was nominated for her advocacy efforts. Willett was a select member of the Radiation Control Department special committee to revise and update the state’s medical imaging and radiation therapy licensure regulations. She has testified in the state capitol against a number of bills that would grant nurse practitioners, physician assistants and podiatry assistants the authority perform medical imaging procedures. Moreover, Willett is responsible for creating and distributing call-to-action messages and monitoring legislative and regulatory activities in Massachusetts.Brandy Cusson, R.T.(R), was instrumental in securing licensure for medical imaging and radiation therapy professionals in New Hampshire. As president of the New Hampshire Society of Radiologic Technologists, she organized informational meetings, provided testimony before the state legislature, hosted panel discussions and conducted presentations about the need for licensure in New Hampshire. She now serves as the first chairman of the New Hampshire Board of Medical Imaging and Radiation Therapy.Willett and Cusson will each receive $250 and a recognition plaque, while the KSRT and NHSRT will each receive $500 and a recognition plaque. The awards will be presented at the 2017 ASRT Annual Governance and House of Delegates Meeting in Orlando, Florida, June 22-25.