Burnout is a well-documented issue in radiology, but what can radiologists do to avoid such feelings? According to a new study published in Current Problems in Diagnostic Radiology, improving efficiency is one way to battle burnout.

A majority of radiology training programs utilize traditional interview techniques when interviewing candidates, according to a survey of active members of the Association of Program Directors in Radiology (APDR) published in Academic Radiology.

Mary C. Mahoney, MD, was named chair of the RSNA Board of Directors at RSNA 2018 in Chicago. Mahoney will lead the board in presenting radiologic research, education and technologies “to meet the changing needs of RSNA members and to improve patient care.”

Workplace satisfaction among radiologists is propelled more by intrinsic motivators such as purpose and autonomy than extrinsic motivators such as salary and other financial incentives, according to an article published in the Journal of the American College of Radiology.

Last spring RBJ put out a call for entrants to compete in its inaugural Imaging Innovation Awards. We opened the contest to all private radiology practices and hospital radiology departments that had recently completed a project combining creative thinking with coordinated teamwork to develop a notably original breakthrough in some particular aspect of medical imaging.

Valerie P. Jackson, MD, has been named the new president of the RSNA Board of Directors.

A web-based radiology curriculum hosted on Radiopaedia.org resulted in better test scores among medical students than traditional teaching methods, according to research published in the Journal of the American College of Radiology.

Radiologist Puneet Bhargava, MD, spoke Wednesday, Nov. 28, at RSNA 2018 in Chicago about how to enhance personal productivity.

Female radiologists continue to be underrepresented in academic and leadership roles compared to their male counterparts, researchers reported this month in the American Journal of Roentgenology.

2019 will see the launch of three new peer-reviewed journals published by RSNA, including one dedicated to AI in medical imaging. On Monday, Nov. 26, at RSNA 2018 in Chicago, the managing editor of the new titles filled in some details on what to expect and watch for.

It will come as no surprise to attendees of RSNA 2018 when Vijay M. Rao, MD, officially kicks off the proceedings by homing in on AI and machine learning during her president’s address on Sunday, November 25, at 8:30 a.m. After all, that topic was the talk of McCormick Place last late November and, since then, it’s only grown in importance to the profession.

As the impact and influence of social media continues to grow, how can radiologists and other imaging professionals use it to their advantage?