SIR17: Record breaking number of Fellows inducted

At the Society of Interventional Radiology (SIR) 2017 Annual Scientific Meeting, a record breaking 32 new Fellows were inducted. Less than 10 percent of SIR members achieve this honor that is awarded to those who have demonstrated excellence in research, published works, teaching or leadership within the field of interventional radiology and who have made significant contributions to the society.

“Each new SIR Fellow has demonstrated a level of excellence in research, mentorship and patient care that has propelled interventional radiology forward," said SIR 2016-2017 President Charles E. Ray Jr., MD, PhD, professor and head of the department of radiology at the University of Illinois, Chicago in a statement. “Their commitment to our specialty ensures that interventional radiology remains synonymous with modern medicine, developing breakthrough, minimally invasive treatements that maximize patient care.”

Listed are the newly inducted SIR Fellows:

Ahmed Kamel Abdel Aal, MD, University of Alabama Birmingham                                

Maureen P. Kohi, MD, University of California, San Francisco

Samuel G. Putnam, MD, Christiana Hospital, Newark

District of Columbia
Keith M. Horton, MD, MedStar Washington Hospital Center
Karun Sharma, MD, PhD, Children's National Medical Center

J. David Prologo, MD, Emory University, Atlanta


Bulent Arslan, MD, Rush University Medical Center, Chicago
Ulku Turba, MD, Rush University Medical Center, Chicago


Michael J. Hall, MD, Beacon Medical Group, South Bend


Raymond W. Liu, MD, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston


Michael S. Rosenberg, MD, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis
David A. Woodrum, MD, Mayo Clinic, Rochester

John J. Borsa, MD, Saint Luke's Hospital, University of Missouri, Kansas City

New York
Aaron Fischman, MD, Mount Sinai Health System, New York
Akhilesh K. Sista, MD, New York University, New York

North Carolina
Robert G. Dixon, MD, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Kenneth J. Kolbeck, MD, Dotter Interventional Institute, Portland

James F. McGuckin Jr., MD, Philadelphia Vascular Institute
Joseph Ronsivalle, MD, Guthrie Clinic, Sayre
Deepak Sudheendra, MD, Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia

Peter R. Bream, MD, Vanderbilt University Medical Center, Nashville

Shellie C. Josephs, MD, Children's Health Dallas
Ezequiel Silva, MD, South Texas Radiology Group, San Antonio
Rajeev Suri, MD, University of Texas Health Sciences Center, San Antonio
Alda L. Tam, MD, MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston

Michael P. McDermott, MD, Mary Washington Healthcare, Fredericksburg

Sharon W. Kwan, MD, University of Washington, Seattle

Sarah B. White, MD, Medical College of Wisconsin, Milwaukee             

Eduardo P. Eyheremendy, MD, Hospital Aleman, Buenos Aires

Francisco C. Carnevale, MD, University of Sao Paulo Medical School, Sao Paulo

Jason Wong, MD, Foothills Medical Centre, Calgary, Alberta

Stefan Muller-Hulsbeck, MD, Ev.-Luth Diakonissenanstalt zu Flensburg